AAAS Awards and Prizes

Awards Approved by the AAAS Board of Directors

Please join us at the plenary events where the following awardees will be honored.

AAAS Award for Public Engagement with Science
Michael E. Mann
Pennsylvania State University

AAAS Early Career Award for Public Engagement with Science
Johanna Varner
Colorado Mesa University

AAAS Award for Science Diplomacy
Lassina Zerbo
Comprehensive Nuclear-Test-Ban Treaty Organization

AAAS Award for Scientific Freedom and Responsibility
Marc Edwards
Virginia Tech

AAAS Mentor Award
Keivan Stassun
Vanderbilt University

AAAS Mentor Award for Lifetime Achievement
Linda Sealy
Vanderbilt University

AAAS Philip Hauge Abelson Prize
Arthur Bienenstock
Stanford University

AAAS Newcomb Cleveland Prize
Combining polyethylene and polypropylene: Enhanced performance with PE/iPP multiblock polymers
James M. Eagan, Jun Xu, Rocco Di Girolamo, Christopher M. Thurber, Christopher W. Macosko, Anne M. LaPointe, Frank S. Bates, Geoffrey W. Coates.
Published 24 February 2017

Visit for information about nominations for the 2019 awards and prizes, which will be presented at the 2019 AAAS Annual Meeting in Washington, D.C., February 14-18, 2019.

AAAS/Subaru SB&F Prizes for Excellence in Children’s Science Books

The prizes celebrate outstanding science writing and illustration for children and young adults.

Children’s Science Picture Book Winner
Beauty and the Beak: How Science, Technology, and a 3D-Printed Beak Rescued a Bald Eagle, by Deborah Lee Rose and Jane Veltkamp. Persnickety Press. 2017.
Author: Deborah Lee Rose
Author: Jane VeltKamp

Middle Grades Science Book
Animals by the Numbers: A Book of Animal Infographics, by Steve Jenkins. Houghton Mifflin Harcourt. 2016.
Author: Steve Jenkins

Young Adult Science Book
How to Tame a Fox (and Build a Dog): Visionary Scientists and a Siberian Tale of Jump-Started Evolution, by Lee Alan Dugatkin and Lyudmila Trut. University of Chicago Press. 2017.
Authors Lee Alan Dugatkin and Lyudmila Trut

Hands-On Science Book
This Book Stinks! Gross Garbage, Rotten Rubbish, and the Science of Trash, by Sarah Wassner Flynn. National Geographic Children’s Books. 2017.
Author: Sarah Wassner Flynn

Learn more about the The AAAS/Subaru SB&F Prize for Excellence in Science Books.

Recipients of the following awards must be selected to present a poster at the Annual Meeting.

Helen Froelich Holt Scholarship for Early Career Women in Science

Torrey Truszkowski
Brown University

Joshua E. Neimark Memorial Travel Assistance Award

Miriam Aczel
Imperial College London

William Armentrout
West Virginia University

Frank He
Cornell University

Kara Kedrick
University of Minnesota

Samantha Powell
University of Oklahoma

For more information about Helen Froelich Holt Scholarship for Early Career Women in Science and Joshua E. Neimark Memorial Travel Assistance Award, please contact Betty Calinger, Project Director, AAAS Education and Human Resources,

AAAS Kavli Science Journalism Awards

Endowed by The Kavli Foundation, AAAS Kavli Science Journalism Awards are an internationally recognized measure of excellence in science journalism and are open to journalists worldwide.

Large Newspaper—Circulation of 150,000 or more
Gold Award: Ryan McNeill, Deborah J. Nelson, Yasmeen Abutaleb and the Reuters team
Silver Award: Marlene Weiss
Sueddeutsche Zeitung (Munich)

Small Newspaper—Circulation less than 150,000
Gold Award: Sarah Wild
Mail and Guardian − Johannesburg, South Africa
Silver Award: Alex Kuffner
The Providence Journal

Gold Award: Douglas Fox
High Country News
Silver Award: J.B. MacKinnon

Spot News/Feature Reporting
Gold Award: Melissa Hogenboom and Pierangelo Pirak
BBC Earth
Silver Award: Catherine (Cat) Wise, Patti Parson, Jason Lelchuk, Murrey Jacobson and Sara Just
PBS NewsHour

Television In-Depth Reporting
Gold Award: Catherine Ryan and Gary Weimberg
Luna Productions for PBS
Silver Award: Llewellyn Smith and Kelly Thomson

Gold Award: Victoria Gill and Andrew Luck-Baker
BBC Radio 4
Silver Award: Robbie McEwan
Radio National, Australian Broadcasting Corporation

Gold Award: Al Shaw, Neena Satija and Kiah Collier
Pro Publica and The Texas Tribune
Silver Award: Nick Neely
High Country News online

Children’s Science News
Gold Award: Elizabeth Preston
Ask Magazine
Silver Award: Jennifer Barone
Scholastic Science World

Learn more about the AAAS Kavli Science Journalism Awards.


Browse the meeting program >