Program Committee

The AAAS Scientific Program Committee is charged with establishing the meeting theme and program tracks, reviewing proposals and selecting scientific sessions, topical lectures, and special sessions, as well as performing other functions deemed necessary to develop a scientific program for the AAAS Annual Meeting. The Association’s President and President-Elect are the Chair and Vice Chair, respectively, of the Committee, which is composed of 13 appointed members, reflecting the range of scientific disciplines of the AAAS membership.

Gilda A. Barabino
AAAS President and Chair, 2023 Annual Meeting
President and Professor, Olin College of Engineering

Lisa Chong
Editor, Insights
American Association for the Advancement of Science

Karen Emmorey
Albert W. Johnson Distinguished Professor of Speech, Language, and Hearing Sciences
Director, Laboratory for Language and Cognitive Neuroscience
San Diego State University

Joseph Francisco
President’s Distinguished Professor, Department of Earth and Environmental Science
University of Pennsylvania

Agustin Fuentes
Professor of Anthropology
Princeton University

Edray Herber Goins
Professor of Mathematics
Pomona College

David Gracias
Professor and Director of the PhD program, Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering
John Hopkins University

James Kurose 
Distinguished Professor, College of Information and Computer Sciences
University of Massachusetts Amherst

Cindy Lee
Distinguished Professor Emeritus, School of Marine and Atmospheric Sciences
Stonybrook University

Ernesto E. Marinero
Professor of Materials Engineering and Electrical and Computer Engineering
Purdue University

Kimberly Montgomery
Director of International Affairs and Science Diplomacy
American Association for the Advancement of Science

Enrico Ramirez-Ruiz
Professor of Astronomy and Astrophysics
University of California, Santa Cruz

Denis-Didier Rousseau 
Senior Research Scientist
Ecole Normale Supérieure

Yang Shao-Horn
W.M. Keck Professor of Energy<
Massachusetts Institute of Technology

Joyce Wong
Professor of Biomedical Engineering and Materials Science and Engineering and an Inaugural Term Distinguished Professor of Engineering
Boston University

AAAS is committed to making the Annual Meeting an inclusive space for sharing ideas and knowledge. View Our Policies